SPA National Conference, Falkirk 2010

The first national SPA conference took place on Tuesday 25th May 2010 at the Inchyra Grange Hotel near Edinburgh and was a great success, with over 130 people attending from all over Scotland.

Thanks go to our sponsors, the Association of British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI) Mental Health Industry Group and the organisations that had a stand:

  • AstraZeneca UK Ltd
  • Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals Ltd (BMS)
  • Eisai Ltd
  • Lilly UK
  • Map of Medicine Ltd
  • Pfizer Ltd
  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

The conference was opened by Derek Feeley, Director of Healthcare Policy and Strategy, Scottish Government Health Directorates, who highlighted the new NHS Quality Strategy and the role care pathways have in delivering on this agenda. This was followed by a presentation by Edwin Petrie, Service User from a Diabetes Managed Clinical Network. Edwin demonstrated how care pathways can be person centred if they address the needs of the people using services.  Despite some technical hitches, Dr Kris Vanhaecht, Secretary General, European Pathway Association then gave a virtual presentation on an international perspective on care pathway use, evaluation and research.

The next session presented the national mental health ICP work going on in Scotland by the National ICP Co-ordinators Linda McKechnie and Mark Fleming and was followed by a presentation of the SPA survey of care pathway users by David Thomson.  The results of the survey will be presented on this site.

The afternoon sessions concentrated on presentations from care pathway users describing the impact of implementing a care pathway approach:

This was followed by a panel discussion with the audience before Dr Frances Elliot, Chief Executive, NHS Quality Improvement Scotland gave an overview of the day, handed out the poster prize and closed the conference.

The poster prize, as voted by the conference attendees, went to:
Denise Moffat and ICP colleagues, NHS Dumfries and Galloway: Improving the Health Monitoring of Patients with Severe Mental Health Problems.

The prize was a platinum statue made by our Chair, Professor Jeremy Wyatt and was sponsored by the Association of British Pharmaceutical Industries (ABPI) Mental Health Industry Group.

Share this page: